Yet another first bike buyer needing advice - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-20-2011, 09:12 AM Thread Starter

Yet another first bike buyer needing advice

Hey guys,
So a little background. I'm a 20 year old student at St. Joseph's University in Philadelphia Pa. Lifelong dream of mine to buy a sportbike, I used to ride 50 and 100 cc dirtbikes as a kid. I need a bike that is good with this terrible city traffic, but is capable of having fun on my hour and a half highway rides home and to my girlfriend's house. That being said, I've done my research and I've been looking for a few options. I'm running my own house painting business in Philly over the summer so I'm finally going to have a bunch of extra spending money. I'm not trying to go crazy though, looking to spend around 3500 or so. I can go higher, I can go lower, but thats my general spending preference.
I know everyone and their mother says that I should get a ninja 250 for my first bike, but I'll be honest, I feel like I could get bored. My dad's a sergeant and I've already gotten out of my fair share of speeding tickets in my car, so I'm not too afraid of opening her up every once in awhile
I'm also not an idiot though. I will spend every possible moment with this bike for my first couple months. I've dreamed about owning my own for awhile, so trust me, I plan on getting all the experience I can before I start acting stupid lol.

Now the fun part, I've listed the bikes I'm most interested in getting. Keep in mind I will NOT buy new, I'm only looking to buy USED, and I'm trying to spend around 3500. Also, keep in mind that this will be my first bike, so although I want something a little more powerful than the Ninja 250, I don't feel comfortable buying the Ninja ZX-14 i saw posted on craigslist for 2700.

My top choices so far:
- Kawasaki Ninja 500r
- Kawasaki Ninja 650r
- Suzuki SV650(s)
- Yamaha FZ6