need help choosing a bike - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-26-2011, 01:14 PM Thread Starter

need help choosing a bike

hi all, I'm gonna start off by saying I'm completely new to bikes. I've seen countless threads about "which bike should I get, x or y?" that's not so much my question. I'm thinking I want a 600, but not sure which to go with... Yamaha, Kawi, Honda or Suzuki. Is anybody on here especially tall to vouch for bike fit? I'm 6'5 240lbs, with a 36" inseam. What bikes are generally better for taller guys? I like the looks of the gixxer, but I haven't had many opportunities to sit on any bikes. Also I'll be going with a used bike since I know damn near everyone lays down the bike at some point.

any thoughts are appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-26-2011, 04:54 PM
Super Moderator

At your size the 600s are going to seem a bit small no matter what. The manufacturers have begun putting stiffer springs in them, but ergonomically they will seem a bit small. My track bike is a 05 model R6, and I've made a lot of changes in the chassis to accommodate my weight (pretty close to yours).

That being said, the 600s are a great choice nowadays because of the power they put out, and the chassis' are phenomenally well handling. With the comparisons being so close, it's really a matter of sitting on each, and finding a color and features that appeal to you. Even on the track they are all so close to each other, it's typically the rider that makes the ultimate difference.

Dan
1991 FZR 1000 - built 1040 with race cams, Akrapovic full exhaust, and mild suspension work
2004 YZF R1 - Graves full exhaust, velocity stacks, BMC race filter, and Power Commander. Rear Ohlins. Forks rblt with Race Tech springs and Gold Valves.
2005 20th Anniversary V-Max (0098/2000) - T boost,
2005 YZF R6 track bike - Graves full exhaust, Race Tech suspension