Need some honest opinions - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-26-2009, 10:46 AM Thread Starter

Need some honest opinions

Hi guys. Ive been reading all the stickies about good first bikes, what to look at, what not to look at, etc... also been reading about the crashes and how they happen. Seems to be a mix of careless people in cars and cyclists thinking they have more experience than they do. Im looking at a 2001 yamaha R6 tomorrow, much contemplation has gone into this decision and I want to hear your opinions. I am 19 years old, I am looking to buy my first street bike and have riden a two other bikes. my friend owns a 650 cruiser and my other friend owns an 89 FZR1000. ive riden the cruiser for a while and felt fine on it, not any issues at all. Rode the FZR and wasnt the most comfortable but the bike was heavy and fast as hell. So i only rode that a bit and didnt push it because i am new to riding. Ive been riding dirt bikes since i was 12, done time trial racing with my bike but thats in the woods and i know the roads are very different. I am super confident on any dirtbike or dual sport bike riding in the trails. Up to now ive owned 4 dirtbikes and have loved every minute of riding them.
The only bike i have owned that i can use on the road is a 87 honda Xl250. Dual sport i guess you could call it. Rode that a while on the streets by my house nothing to far cause it was only an aircooled 250cc bike.