contrasting 600cc in-line fours - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-04-2009, 07:38 AM Thread Starter

contrasting 600cc in-line fours

I was hoping you could help me compare the zx6r, cbr600rr, r6, and gsxr-600. Iím hoping to spend between $5,000 and $6,500 on a 05 thru 08 model. Some back ground on my riding: I have been riding for about 3 months and 2,500 miles on my first bike, an 01 svs 650. I took the MSF class and received my license endorsement prior to purchasing the sv. After the MSF class I took about 15 additional hours of safety training. I then attended California Super Bike School to begin learning cornering where I rode an 07 zx6r. At first I was intimidated by the inline four. However, I ended up being the most improved rider of the two day camp. I did keep the bike in fourth and third gears in order to concentrate on cornering. I found track riding exhilarating and fulfilling but feel that sort of aggressive riding belongs on the track.

My plan is to continue learning on the sv for another year before considering a 600cc in-line four. I have worked on threshold braking and general strategies for safety around cars. I am beginning to work on down shifting and rev-matching. Even though the plan is to wait a year before getting a different bike, Iím beginning to familiarize myself with the bikes and their market. I plan on seeking out additional track training on the sv. If/when I get an in-line four I plan on spending a significant amount of time at the track because I feel the riding I experienced at Super Bike School really belongs on a track only. However, Iím also considering using the bike on the streets without pushing the envelope.