What exactly defines "experience"? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-23-2009, 07:49 AM Thread Starter

What exactly defines "experience"?

Hey, I'm new to the world of Sportbikes, but have been interested in entering it since I was a child playing the popular computer game "Road Rash" haha.

Now I'm a student in University (majoring in philosophy, as some may have realized from the topic I'm wondering here.) I'm about to turn 19, and (not trying to be concieted or anytihng, I just think this is relevant info) pretty well built for my age.

I'm finally going to take the leap and get a sport bike, I've been looking around at some used ones and I'm down between an 86 Ninja, and a 91 Katana, I'm leaning toward the Katana.

Now to get to the subject itself, I have read over and over, not to start riding on a 600 unless you have some or a lot of experience riding, (this apparently includes dirtbikes, smaller sport bikes, etc..) but what about scooters? for the last 4-5 years I've owned a few scooters, some were capable of 90 KM/h (that's like 50 or so Mph I think?) and my most recent one weighed roughly 250 pounds.

So what I'm wondering is, after all my experience on scooters, would a 600 be a reasonable step up? I understand throttle control, I know how to lean, I'm under the immpression my biggest challenge will be getting used to the weight and power; yes that is a broad challenge I agree, but I'm confident I can adapt to it, I'm not a fool when it comes to riding either, I don't plan on breaking sound barriers with this, I just want something with enough power to have fun on, and I've always been attracted to 600cc sport bikes haha.

So is my logic right here? would scooters fit under the category of experience?

Thanks.

-Jmart
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-23-2009, 08:42 AM
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht