Wanting to get into the sport bike world, tips? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-04-2008, 12:45 PM Thread Starter

Wanting to get into the sport bike world, tips?

First of all I will get this out there, I am a young guy at 18 years old. I'm looking for a new passion to pick up, I already have a passion for cars, I drive a 2004 Cobra. Being that I am young I hope to earn some respect here as having self control and being responsible with power. I can assure you I am responsible with my high powered car and I'm hoping that i can use this self control with a sport bike as well (I understand it is totally different). Now I do understand a sport bike is much more dangerous and a 600 and above is quite a bit faster than my car, well some 600's. I have some knowledge of bikes, but not a lot, I'm looking to learn a lot more about them and hopefully help make the choice if i want to invest in one. I understand that I need to start off small too, now the only bike i have ever rode was a CBR-600RR and it was a blast, but MORE! than enough power for myself, definitely too much for a beginner as I definitely am. With all that horse shit being said haha, anyone have some direction they might suggest me in, or someone who has been in my shoes before? Anyhow the forum looks nice and there seems to be a good strong base of users on here, hope to see you all around!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-05-2008, 03:10 PM

Welcome to SBW! (<- standard greeting)

Read the sticky threads in the New Riders section, go do an MSF course, buy ALL your gear, then go buy a 250 - 500cc bike.

In God, we trust; all others must provide data.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-05-2008, 04:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slobra46 View Post
Now I do understand a sport bike is much more dangerous and a 600 and above is quite a bit faster than my car, well some 600's.