Im a noob - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-09-2008, 02:47 PM Thread Starter

Need Advice

hey everyone i was just lookin for some advice.

i've never rode a motorcycle before and im looking to get a bike. i was going for a brand new kawasaki

was planin on the new 250 or 500 but my local dealer said ill have to wait a while. he suggested the 650R i didn't know cuz ive heard a lot about the 600's being a bad choice for first bike.

just so ya know im 6ft 240lbs so weight shouldnt be a problem.

thanx in advance

Last edited by Blind2Society; 06-09-2008 at 03:00 PM. Reason: better title
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-09-2008, 03:07 PM

Stick with your 250 or 500 plan. It's the best one. Go buy a used bike instead, though, as you're just gonna scratch it up when you drop it anyway.

In God, we trust; all others must provide data.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-09-2008, 03:11 PM
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht
Welcome

Cookee pretty much nailed it. Buy used and buy small. You'll retain more of your investment, provided you don't wreck it too badly, and it will be much easier to learn on a more forgiving bike.

"The only difference between death and taxes is that death doesn't get worse every time Congress meets."
-Will Rogers

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-09-2008, 03:26 PM Thread Starter

ive looked a lot for used 500and250's but for some reason round here there hard to find but there's no shortage of 600 supers and 1000's and the like which is not what im lookin for

i figured with money not being an issue a new bike would save some of the hassle plus the warrenty and i dont much care if i scratch or dent it so long as i dont kill it completely

i would much rather get a 500 or 250 but even new i cant find one

so all that aside what im wonderin is, do you think the twin cylinder 650R is too much power?