Want an affordable bike that'll last me a while - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-05-2008, 12:17 PM Thread Starter

Want an affordable bike that'll last me a while

Guys this site has been amazingly helpful so far. I read through your newbie threads and I read some of the other beginners' questions to get a feel for what I'm getting into.

I'm very young and I love my toys, but I'm respectful and responsible, more-so than my age could ever imply. I've seen people get hurt on bikes, and in cars, be it their fault or the fault of another, and I understand how quickly things can go wrong and how stupid other drivers can be.

With that said, I need my first bike to last me a while. Simply put, I don't want to outgrow this bike any time soon, because I can't afford to. I'm a college student, and even though I've found the opportunity to collect some extra funds in the present, I can't plan on doing it again in the future.

I'd like to purchase something in the 500-600cc range for something around $3000. I would prefer one thats already been dropped so I wont feel too bad when I do it myself. My only concern with the age of the bike is the lack of style; I prefer the somewhat updated looks, rather than the bloated out rounded bulky ones, or the ones that are too flashy colored. I need a bike that's good for around-the-town rides, but just as importantly, good on the highway, because I will be using it to save gas on frequent trips through the state.

I'm a fan of the Suzuki GSX-R's. What else is out there for me? Is there any way that I'm being unreasonable or unrealistic. Fell free to point me in the right direction.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-05-2008, 12:27 PM
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht
First of all, Welcome

Now let me address some things:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckandes1 View Post
I'm very young and I love my toys