Beginner that read the Stickies and some previous posts... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 05-22-2008, 06:21 PM Thread Starter

Beginner that read the Stickies and some previous posts...

So, having read that one really long article, some even longer posts, what to look for in used bikes, and what some typical noobs have to say, i have come to terms with the fact i knew nothing, and now know little more then nothing about sport bikes, and that i am basically a typical newbie.

If you are still reading this, hopefully this next sentance wont scare you off either: I am 18, and possibly maybe considering to start to look at a suzuki GS500, or bascially any other 500cc (what does cc stand for, btw?). Is there a problem with this, what and why? I am fightened at the responses that last sentance might generate, but i will endure whatever for the hope of some solid advice. It seemed to me that is almost the standard beginner bike nowadays- wether it should be or not. . . my motives for buying a motorcycle, are gas prices, and just an overall intrest in them that i havent grown out of. I eventually would love to upgrade to a big bike, but i want to see if i have the same intrest after acouple years... Plus, i want that feeling of going VERY fast unique to biking, and i almost look up to ppl that i see riding on the highway, and i want that... respect, (for lack of better words). oh and ive never met a girl that doesnt think riding a motorcycle is hot. I guess it goes without saying, but i would perfer not a cheap piece of crap as my first bike (i bet ill get some responses from that sent.) cause i plan on having it throughout college (unless i come into a large some of money), but i think buying used would be a great idea for my wallet, so ideally i will do that.