Newbie w/riding question - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 52 (permalink) Old 05-08-2008, 07:38 AM Thread Starter

Red face Newbie w/riding question

What's up everyone.. I just started riding (Ninja 500) about two weeks ago and only have about 400 miles under my belt so far.. I was hoping to get some insight from someone who has been riding a little longer then me I am taking the MSF course next weekend -fyi

I have been riding about every evening after work with some friends (who have all been riding for a while). It has been pretty windy (15-30 mph gusts) on most days and I seem to be having a hard time adjusting. NOBODY else seems to notice/mind this but me. For instance, we were going down the highway when all of a sudden this gust came from my right side and pushed me from the middle of my lane onto the double yellow (with on coming traffic right there)! I totally thought I was gonna crash... So my question is this:

Is the wind something you just get use to (like a skill you develop)... ?
Is it something that you should try to avoid riding in...?
Or am I just being a wuss and i'm the ONLY one that notices this.... ?

Any imput would be helpful, thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 52 (permalink) Old 05-08-2008, 08:25 AM

Wind is a fact of life when it comes to riding. It shouldn't be blowing you across the lane, though. Not a wind gust like that, anyway. The more comfortable you become on your bike, the less it will bother you. The trick is to not move with the bike. Being a new rider, I am guessing you are probably trying to remain upright on the bike regardless of the wind... and that would be your mistake. Let the bike move back and fourth if it wants... just pay attention to where your body is and where you are in the road. Eventually it will become natural.