Looking at picking up my first bike, big sportbike from Suzuki Hayabusa... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-23-2008, 12:56 PM Thread Starter

Looking at picking up my first bike, big sportbike from Suzuki Hayabusa...

...OK, now that I've got your attention

Not having a death wish, I'm not buying a Hayabusa, but would like some thoughts on the relative merits of some entry level bikes. I've read the stickied beginner links and am hoping to get some first hand feedback from some of the folks on here.

First off, I'm 40, married, not a risk taker and don't need to go 1000 mph with my hair on fire. I'm looking for something more along the lines of "Mercedes SL" than "Lambo Diablo", composed, smooth, and powerful enough to be entertaining. I also realize that I'm a complete noob and have a lot of learning to do.

My first bike will be used. I'm thinking along the lines of the Kaw 500 Ninja, Suzuki GS500 or possibly an SV650, or a Buell Blast (which I'm liking as it is somewhat unusual, which appeals to me). I will of course be taking an MSF course before getting serious.

If anyone can comment on these particular models and how they stack up, I would appreciate the input. The bike would be a Sunday morning type ride, with occasional commuting on Michigan's fine road system - just like Baghdad without the IEDs! (my tax money at work.... )

Thanks much for what looks to be a very informative site.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-23-2008, 01:26 PM

Send a message via Yahoo to DemonRR
sv650
cbr 600rr
gixxer 600
kawi 636

any of those will be good. but seeing how youve never been on a bike, i would suggest a ninja 500 or the sv650 over the rest of the mentioned bikes above. todays 600cc bikes have enough power to get you in trouble if not careful.

Redline Superbike Member

2004 Honda CBR 1000rr WSBK TenKate Hann Spree race replica