Is there a too big? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-17-2008, 09:04 PM Thread Starter

Is there a too big?

I'm about 6'2"-3" but I'm a big guy. I weigh like 260 lbs. Is there a too big for a sport bike? I'm just getting into them and I want to know if I should just forget about it..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 03:12 AM
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht
Just getting into them you should forget about any current 4-banger race rep (600, 1000). A Ninja 500 will hustle you around just fine, and combined with the MSF and some gear, might help you live long enough to enjoy a Supersport.

"The only difference between death and taxes is that death doesn't get worse every time Congress meets."
-Will Rogers
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 04:13 AM

A friend of mine is around 320-340lbs and he rode a 600 for a while

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 06:20 AM
S370HSSV 0773H

Send a message via Yahoo to spicersh
You're roughly the same size I am. I've ridden some 600's and and 1100 just fine. Hell even a Buell Blast can make my fat ass out-accelerate most cars on the road.

Short answer: No, you're not too big.

SportbikeWorld Supermoderator

The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all of fiction: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomanical, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully. - Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 06:51 AM
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht