freshly new - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-08-2008, 12:20 PM Thread Starter

freshly new

So i am very new to the whole sportbike world. I recently made the desision that i would like to get a sportbike for the summer.. I'm looking at older ones (90's) and wanting a 250 or 600 at the max. I'll probably only spend about 2,000 dollars on one because for one, that's all i really can afford and also i want one that i can slide and not have it be a big deal. I've been into cars for a long time and have a nice 2g 98 mitsubishi eclipse but i think it's time for another toy. I live in northern iowa but am moving to chicago in august to go to U.T.I. for auto mechanics. Anyways glad to meet you all and sorry ahead of time about the stupid questions i may ask in the future.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-08-2008, 12:25 PM
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht
The only stupid question is the one you don't ask. I'm sure you'll find that for the most part everyone here will help you out as much as possible. Good choice sticking with an older, smaller bike for starters. I started on a '92 Honda CBR600F2 back in '03. It got be by for a while until I got my Gixxer. Anyways, if you got any questions fire away. and welcome to SBW!

"The only difference between death and taxes is that death doesn't get worse every time Congress meets."
-Will Rogers
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-08-2008, 06:39 PM Thread Starter

thanks man i'll keep that in mind. I have been looking at some bikes around the internet, mostly on craigslist, and have found some items of interest. I found a 85 kawasaki 600 for 1000 dollars with 25000+ miles on it. Now i know i get what i pay for but, and that's not a lot of money or anything, but what is considered a high mileage for a bike.. does this seem like a good deal?

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-08-2008, 06:54 PM Thread Starter