Looking for advice on a new Sports bike. - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 12:05 PM Thread Starter

Looking for advice on a new Sports bike.

Hey guys. I've been riding for about 7 months now and finally like to upgrade my bike but really don't know what sort of thing to be looking for.

My current bike is a ZXR 750 (ZX7 in the US). It's about 17 years old now, 1991 J1 model. But it's my first bike and dispite it's age I still love it dearly.

I'd like to get something from the 96-2000 era and I have about 2000 to 2500 (about 4800 USD) to spend on something nice (second user obvisouly)

Since this is the only bike I've owned I'm not familiar with anything else really. I'll give a list of what I am after and what I like and dislike about my current bike to aid anyone kind enough to offer their advice.

My ZXR is great, its quick, very realiable and feels very stable but she's old and feels top heavy at anything under 40 mph and because of it's age it's getting harder to maintain it and keep it in top condition (which it was far from when I bought it. bone dry with no oil )

I've never road anything else sport bike wise so don't know what to go for or what I'm looking for really. I sat on my friends 96 ZX7R and though on paper it's heavier than mine it felt far more balanced and more able to chuck through the corners easier.

The only thing I know is I'd like to stick to the 750 cc area it seems the sweet spot for me. Wouldn't mind getting up to a 900 or likewise dropping down to 600cc but I think 750 is where it's at.

If you've got this far reading, thanks. Now any advice?

THanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 03:37 AM
Strength and Honor