hey, brand new here - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-15-2006, 12:58 AM Thread Starter

hey, brand new here

Hey guys im eric...im brand new to motorcycles (but no to the idea of wanting one). Last summer my buddy got a bike and the bug was spread to me, it looks beyond fun. So I've decided to start saving for a bike, hopefully by summer...im looking at a ninja 250 or 500. My friend started out brand new to motorcycles with a 250 (ninja i think) and a few months later traded in and moved up to an R6, so naturally im tired of my 89 prelude. I have a few questions for now:

1. Im kinda tall (6'4"), 170 lbs, and have long legs...my friend said they may have to move some stuff around on the bike to accomodate me (cant remember exactly what he said), is this something that costs a lot?

2. I see many reviews and people giving the ninja 250 and 500 the thumbs up for a beginner bike...i want a 500 but im leaning towards the 250 for costs sake...unless i can find a good used 500, are there any good sites to search for used bikes in the area? im nto looking to go super expensive on my first bike, maybe 3-4k tops (so probably used)

3. How much would I be looking to spend when buying gear (pants, jacket, gloves, helmet, etc)? Im trying to get an idea of how much total i may need to save up.

thanks guys

Last edited by pluda19; 02-15-2006 at 01:13 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-15-2006, 06:31 AM

Riding ergonomics will be more of a problem on a super sport than they would be on a 250/500. If you do have a problem, you can get adjustable rearsets (the brackets that hold the pegs to the frame) they are pricey, around $400 or so. Wait and make sure you really need them first.

In my expirience best place to find a used bike is the local classified section of your newspaper. Friends are even better.