Completely New - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-01-2006, 05:30 PM Thread Starter

Completely New

What's up guys? My name is Andrew, i am completely new to sportsbikes. I have rode dirtbikes for like 5 years now. (yz125&250) I raced for a few years but stopped about a year ago. Lately "the bug" has bit me again and i have the urge to ride- but this time i want to ride on the road, not on the dirt. I searched around the forum for a while but i never found reccomendations for new riders with advanced dirbike experience. I'm 5'9" and weigh about 170 lbs, when i did race i raced comfortably on a pro circuit engine yz 125. I'm just trying to get a sense of what i should start out with because i really don't want to end up seeing my dad (an ER doctor). Thanks a lot, and i hope to be posting on here much more often.
Andrew.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-01-2006, 08:01 PM

Welcome Andrew...

Your question re: all your dirty experience is a good one..and some of your dirt skillz can be used on a "road / sportbike"

What I'd suggest, is to start on something sorta tame, not a new 600cc sportbike, if possible ride a friends older 600 or a bike like a SV 650 twin, if you were a skilled dirt rider, you should have little problem getting settled in on road bike.

Keep in mind that a sportbike takes some different techniques to ride, vs a dirt bike ( I use to race Dirt track) mainly the difference is in the braking, and steering. The front brakes are 99% of your stopping power, so the rear is seldom used. Steering a sportbike requires countersteering, i.e. push left to turn right, and No, it's Not a good idea to try and get it sideways...

On the other hand, if you were a casual weekend dirt rider, I'd suggest a 500cc bike to start on...

if you could, give us an idea on what you'd like to get in the way of a bike....

Hope this helps ya some...