Kicking a dead horse. - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 02:15 PM Thread Starter

Kicking a dead horse.

I know everyone has asked the same question. I am a newbie like a lot of others. But I am smart enough to listen to anyone wiser than me. I am going to take the MSF course as soon as I get home also, beginner and after 6 months or so the advanced. I am asking for advice, or opinions or someones 2 pennies. I was going to get an '06 R6 or and '06 650R. I have read almost every single forum in here and many others on various websites. I just talked to one of my Officers that has been riding since 98 and he told me I would be better off with nothing higher or lower than an 03, with no more that 7k.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 06:34 PM

well, i'm certainly no wiser than you seein' as i'm still a noob myself... but if you read quite a bit here, you'll see a lot of experienced riders suggest you start w/ a 250 or 500cc bike, another suggestion is the sv650 (suzuki's version of the 650r that you can buy used). others will say its ok to start on a 600, its quite a debate that I won't go into.

so you've got choices... my only suggestion is don't buy anything brand new, because there's a very good chance of you dropping or crashing that bike.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 09:07 PM Thread Starter

Yea thats one of the main things that everyone is saying. I rode a 01 ninja 1000 once and I know I wont be able to handle those. I have feared getting on one since I was 17 but now I know I am more disciplined and more realistic. I have a great respect for these machines and a little fear also. But thanx for the

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 11:07 PM