Honda VTR250? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-07-2005, 12:22 AM Thread Starter
ELX

Honda VTR250?

Hey guys,
I had another more general thread. But now i have a clearer idea of what i want to buy for my first sportbike. I figured id make a new one. Basically, in the next month or so i will be buying my first sportbike when i get my license. Here in QLD, Australia it has to be under 250cc for learners. I was thinking of buying a Suzuki RGV250 (2 stroke sportbike), or a Honda CBR250. But i realised that i don't want something like that to learn on. I have been riding dirt for a couple of months. But i started on a bike thatís to powerful for me and as a result i havenít had the best experience. I never learnt vital things like cornering, braking, clutch work ect. I just got out there and road. I really don't want that to happen again with the road. I want something that i can ride everyday. It will always start, be learner friendly, have an agreeable and controllable power range and "attitude". Just something forgivable ect. And a road race 2 stroke like the nsr isn't that. I want to get something nice and friendly, that i wont be scared of, and will be able to have fun with sensibly. The road is a dangerous place after all! Just that after not learning properly on the yz and always worrying about corners ect. I want to start a fresh, get a nice fun reliable user friendly bike. Go to a nice open space first off. Practice corners ect. than move up rather than jumping in the deep end. Anyway, a bike I found that seems to fit all these needs is the Honda VTR250. It's a naked bike which means itís cheaper if i drop it. There's a lot for sale here in Australia, which means I can get a newer one (say 2000) model for my money. There learner friendly, and ill be able to learn all the skills on it, and be able to have fun knowing that it's not going to hit a power band and leave me at the light