this is embarrasing-still can't figure it out! - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-14-2005, 12:56 PM Thread Starter

Unhappy this is embarrasing-still can't figure it out!

I own a YZF600r 05' and I've been riding for just a few months now and i've got a little over 2 grand on the milage. For the life of me a STILL keep stalling(killing?) the engine when i try to come off from a stop light. I seem to do it 1 out of 30 stops on average. MUCH better then my first week(every other stop light!). I can't figure out what i'm doing wrong! I will be in first gear, light turns green, i begin releasing the clutch slowly, the bike will pull itself forward without any throttle help from me(idle speed at 1100). Once the wheels start turning fast enough i start on the throttle LIGHTLY! Most of the time i do it correctly but almost everytime i start from a stop light the bike does that scary shaking feeling like its going to die. It happens right after i start letting off the clutch. I will give it gas and the engine makes a dragging noise that enventually smooths out and after that i'm shifting just fine! When I kill the engine what happens is I start to let off the clutch from the stopping point and give it gas, but then the entire bike will rock VIOLENTLY back and forth a few times and the engine dies. Then i restart and try again and get it after the 2nd or 3rd try. Is it just a matter of taking off really slow? Cause my take offs are REALLY slow, like the cars behind me almost try to go around me slow... Is my idle to low? Oh and one more thing, i have yet to sucessfully start off from a steep hill(about a 30 degree incline or higher) I have no problem starting off when i'm on a downslope, I just release the clutch real slow and of course gravity gets my bike going fast enough to where I can easily give it gas and go. The best part about the downward slopes is I don't get that violent shaky react