Call me crazy but... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2005, 07:56 PM Thread Starter

Call me crazy but...

I've never owned a bike before and I'm planning on buying the new 06 r6.

I've had some experience on bikes. I wouldn't call myself experienced or seasoned... I'd consider myself a rider who had the basics down. I've been on dirt bikes a lot but I understand that they are a whole different ball park and aren't that similar to street bikes.

I've been on street bikes for a grand total of probably around 50 hours.

I'm really debating buying a crappy bike for more experience, but money is tight. Can't quite finance a used bike.

Either way, I just wanted some opinions from people. I know some will be supportive, some harsh, any feedback is appreciated. I know it might seem stupid to want a brand new bike as a first bike that I can actually call my own... but have you seen them?

They are very nice.

Well I've read a lot about safety and I'm signed up to take a 3 day class here in a couple weeks that teaches more in depth rider safety and defensive riding.

Well like I said, feel free to give any feedback to me, it will all be appreciated. Oh and I don't know if this matters any, but I live way out in the country where all the roads are one lane and the traffic is minimal. So I think my surroundings are safer than most places.. but I could be wrong
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2005, 08:10 PM

First and foremost, welcome to SBW!

Now, at the risk of sounding sarcastic, I have a few quick q's for you...

Q.1 What looks cooler: FA-18 Hornet or a Cessna?

Q.2 Which one do you reckon is harder to fly?

Q.3 Which one do pilots learn to fly in?

Q.4 Why?

In God, we trust; all others must provide data.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2005, 08:19 PM