Lots of advice needed - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-05-2005, 06:58 PM Thread Starter

Lots of advice needed

Hey guys,
I am new to the world of street bikes and am in need of lots of advice. First off let me introduce myself. My name is Andy, Iím 18, and from North Carolina. Iíve wanted a motorcycle for a long time, and finally trying to pursue this goal. I would like to own a street bike for the fun factor, and currently driving an F-150 with a 5.8l V8 is killing my wallet with these gas prices.

My first and biggest problem is my parents. Currently they are absolutely against me owning a street bike. They believe itís too dangerous and say ďas long as Iím under this roof its not happeningĒ Did anyone else run into parents like this when they where my age? Can anyone shed some light on changing their minds?

Assuming I, in the end can change their minds I would also like some advice on what bike to get. I have ridden dirt bikes and four wheelers but not enough to amount to any real world experience. I have read about starting out on a 250, or 500 but not sure if they will fit me. I am 6 foot 1, and weigh 215 pounds. Will a smaller bike fit me, or will I need something like a 600 to be comfortable? I would like to buy used and not spend to much money for everything.

Thanks a lot,
Correll

Last edited by Correll; 09-05-2005 at 07:01 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 12:31 AM

haha