what gear to buy? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-03-2005, 03:30 PM Thread Starter

Question what gear to buy?

im starting riding in about 3 months, and i was wondering what gear (other than a helmet) is worth buying, keeping in mind im a student and dont have loads of spare cash. i was thinkin about a jacket and gloves and just wear jeans, but iv heard if you crash in jeans your screwed. so is it worth it to go for leather trousers and some boots too, bearing in mind im not doin too many long trips?

any ideas anyone? thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-03-2005, 07:20 PM

Long trip or short ride to the store, I wear a helmet of course, jacket (leather or textile), riding gloves, and boots. I still have to work on wearing something other than jeans although I do have a pair of Joe Rocket overpants I wear when the weather gets chilly. You don't have to break the bank on gear, just get some good quality stuff to keep you safe.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-09-2005, 03:56 AM

Bigest thing I'll suggest is, no matter what gear you buy, make sure it fits you properly and is comfortable to wear. becasue if it doesnt fit properly then it probably wont protect you as well as it could (this is a definite for helmets). And if its not comfortable, then your mind will make it really easy to just leave it behind.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-09-2005, 06:18 AM

If you are on a tight budget, forego the leathers and go for textiles. They dont protect as well, or rather they arent as reusable, but they are a great deal cheaper, and do offer a good degree of protection. Check out last years models as well. They are much cheaper, but just as good.