Shifting a zx6r - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2005, 12:47 PM Thread Starter

Shifting a zx6r

I realize this is a well covered topic, but I have noticed that in such related topics the model and year are required so I figured I wouldn't be able to match results to my specific bike.

I have a newly (for me) 04 zx6r, this is my first bike and I feel fairly comfortable with the little experiance I have had, I was just wondering what rpms I should shift at. I have noticed that my bike seems to make the sound that I would shift my car at around 5-6rpms. Is this to low? What damage could occur from shifting too soon?

I know this is a noob question, but since I'm a noob, I figured I wouldn't get too flamed...thanx for the help in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2005, 12:53 PM

5-6k is way too low to shift unless you are putting around a long scenic road.
Ya want to stay in the part of the rev range where the bike will move forward when you open the throttle. On 600's in the twisties I try to keep the rev's above 10k. In town, I like to keep them to a milder 7k. I realize that the engine sounds like its going to explode, especially coming from a car, but believe, its just fine. Its designed to spin that fast.

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2005, 01:08 PM Thread Starter

I figured that I was shifting too soon because it redlines at like 13rpm and I figured that 4 or 5 was too low, but didn't want to mess anything up, so I should probably be shifting around 7-8rpm around town right?

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2005, 01:40 PM

yeah, 7-8 is about right. Of course as with a car, it depends on what you are doing at the time.

post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2005, 01:51 PM

Are you kidding, wind that baby up to 13.5k rpms every gear before shifting!
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2005, 02:06 PM