Need some opinions - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-26-2005, 11:08 PM Thread Starter
CRW

Need some opinions

Need a few questions anwser'd.

First off, I am slightly new to the street bike world. I take that back I AM new to the STREET bike world.

I've rode many a motorcycles and have ridden god knows how many dirt bikes (Know thats like night and day difference). Anywho, what I'm getting to is forget all the "No, you can't handle a 600."

I'm sure I can't when I get it, or even for a good while. But this is not gonna be my primary mode of transportation and I plan on taking training courses.

Ok, enough of that.

I want to get what you would say the safest 600 for a "beginner" rider. I've been leaning toward the honda RR because people say it is less prone to unwanted wheelies and not just a horsepower crazed machine (yet still more then enough).

What I would like to know is your opinions on any extra's I could add to the bike to make it more stable and safe?

What safety GEAR do you recomend I purchase? Even if they have safe shoe laces which should I choose? Since I only plan riding this during leisure time.

I really appreciate your opinions and hope I get some mature responses, not just negative "No, too much power" posts. This board has tons of knowledge on it and I'd like to get as much as I could!

Thanks again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-27-2005, 04:37 AM

If you're going to get a 600, I'd recommend something a bit older. Probably best to get something along the lines of an F2 or F3, but if you're against getting something that old, than get something at least 4-5 years old. Bikes from 1999 or 2000 are still awesome looking and at least they aren't QUITE as powerful as the ones nowadays. Plus there are loads of parts for them around, so when you drop it, you can replace the parts cheaper.