Honda VTR 250 vs. Kawi Ninja 250 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-19-2005, 04:52 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to Lyle Beach
Honda VTR 250 vs. Kawi Ninja 250

Hello,

I am looking to get a bike in the next few weeks, and I have seen a few bikes that I have narrowed it down to.

I am new to riding so I would feel comfortable starting on a 250.

Can you please tell me any pros and cons between these 2 bikes?

1990 Honda VTR Interceptor vs. 00'-04' Kawasaki Ninja 250

performance?

availability for parts?

Any other comments?

Thanks for your time!

Lyle
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-19-2005, 09:12 PM

I say go with the 00-04 ninja. Newer bikes are less hassle (fuel injected vs carbs), and lighter. It'll prolly b easier to take the test with too. Just my 2 cents.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-19-2005, 09:30 PM

Ninja 250........

....without a doubt........hands down!

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-19-2005, 10:02 PM

Both bikes have carbs, but go with Ninja 250, more parts available, little maintenance, and more demand for resell.
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-20-2005, 03:56 PM Thread Starter

thanks for the replys!

Cheers,

Lyle
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-20-2005, 11:33 PM

I may be completely wrong here, but the pics of VTR 250 that I've seen before gave me the impression that it had drum brakes on the front, which would mean drum brakes on the rear as well. The Ninja 250 in the year range you mention definintely has disk brakes on both, front and rear. With disk brakes being superior, that means that this entry level sportbike spanks all but a few cruisers as far as brakes are concerned.
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-21-2005, 12:32 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally posted by veektor