first bike questions, ninja 500R vs SV650 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-16-2005, 07:43 PM Thread Starter

first bike questions, ninja 500R vs SV650

I'm planning on getting my first bike very soon. I've got no experience at all on a bike. The two bikes that I am considering are the Kawasaki Ninja 500R and the Suzuki SV650s. Before anyone suggests it, yes, I will be taking a safety course before riding, and yes I will definitly be buying the bike used.

Now for my questions. Well really my question is how do these bikes compare? Obviously this is a pretty general question, but I've yet to find a good comparison of them anywhere online. Any information people can provide me would be really appreciated.

I'm planning to use the bike almost exclusively for around town riding, hopefully not during rush hour. I would also like to take the bike on a short highway trip ~100miles when I get enough experience that I feel comfortable doing this. Another important factor is that I would also like to be able to ride with my g/f as a passenger once I feel comfortable with the bike. I'm pretty much not at all concerned about the bike's performance, I allready know anything I buy is going to be more than adequate performance for my n00bness.

I was almost 100% set on the ninja after sitting on them and looking at a few. But recently I've heard a lot of people recommending the sv650 over the ninja. I haven't actually looked at any sv650s yet though. The reasoning I have heard amounts to the following:

Ninja 500R will be very poor for riding with another adult passenger. Is this true? And how does this compare to the Sv650? The SV650 seems a lot more capable of handling a passenger.

The Sv650 is fuel injected versus the carbeureted ninja. I'll be honest that I have no idea why this is an advantage really, but I have heard that it is something I should consider.