I'm about to start riding the first time and have a few ??? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 05-01-2005, 11:39 AM Thread Starter

I'm about to start riding the first time and have a few ???

Alright i'm about to be 18 years old and i'm looking to get me a sportbike,probably a brand new honda cbr600 or kawasaki ninja 6r.I've never rode before and i'm wondering if you think i'll turn it over,since its my first time everyone says you'll probably turn it on its side.I want be trying anything crazy for along time and will not get on the street for a few weeks untill i get used to it on my road i live on,but i believe if i'm careful and don't do anything stupid i should be ok.Also how much power do 600's have and do they ride a wheelie easy,but i won't even attempt a wheelie for months.The reason i'm going with a 600 is,because this is the bike i really want and don't want to waste money on anything else,when all bikes are the same when doing the speed limit.Any help is aprecciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 05-01-2005, 01:04 PM

Go take the MSF course, you will be happy you did!
http://www.msf-usa.org/

Yes, you will lay it down, drop it, crash, or something else. I bet 95% of riders will say they have at one time or another done so.

Buy used. Don't buy your dream bike for your first bike, the likelihood of messing it up is far too high. If you get a used 'beginner' bike this year, learn on it for a year, you will likely be able(unless you total it) to sell it next year for most of what you paid this year. What you sell it for can be your down payment on the bike you upgrade to after you have some experience riding and confidence in your skills.
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 05-01-2005, 02:04 PM

Agree with above & also aim at a darn good beginners bike. No not a 125 or 250, but a 500cc vertical twin like what Suzuki & Kawasaki offer.