1997 Yamaha FZR600R - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-21-2005, 05:14 PM Thread Starter

1997 Yamaha FZR600R

I'm looking at 1997 Yamaha FZR600R's, what do you guys think about those bikes? Are they good for beginners/intermediate?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-21-2005, 05:31 PM

They're great bikes...in my opinion, excellent for an intermediate, maybe not so for a complete beginner. How much experience do you have?

While it doesn't have the performance of the new supersports, it's still a pretty fast bike. If you're learning to ride, something like a Ninja 250/500, or Suzuki's GS500 are great bikes. Light, more forgiving to mistakes(which every beginner makes), and easier to build confidence and good riding skills on, rather than a 600+ sport bike.

Some people may disagree, and the FZR600 may even be borderline for an ok beginner's bike, but it's still a lot of bike if you've never ridden.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-21-2005, 06:07 PM Thread Starter

I only have experience on dirt bikes and I'm looking to get into street bikes. The problem is i'm limited to about $3000 budget and I'm looking for a bike to learn on but still be satisfied with it when i get experience.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-21-2005, 06:27 PM

The FZR600 was & is a good bike. I have the next step up being the YZF600r from '97 till the present '05. Both prior to the R6 design which was pretty dramatic.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-21-2005, 06:34 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by Superformance
I only have experience on dirt bikes and I'm looking to get into street bikes. The problem is i'm limited to about $3000 budget and I'm looking for a bike to learn on but still be satisfied with it when i get experience.