Riddle me this.... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-17-2005, 11:06 AM Thread Starter

Riddle me this....

My mom works in the E.R. She says the worst cases she has seen in her 21 years of nursing is people in motorcycle wrecks. She also says that, in most cases, the rider isn't at fault; it's the car driver who hits them and the fact that they aren't seen. Now to my question: Is it true that people are constantly shifting into your lane or pulling out in front of you while you are riding? I'm not trying to die, but I want a motorcycle more than I have ever wanted anything in my entire life. If there is any advice you can give for being seen or avoiding this problem, please tell. Thanks in advance for your help. Holla.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-17-2005, 11:21 AM

I work in a hospital.... though not in the ER... I do hear many stories about Bike accidents... some are and some aren't the riders fault... but to be honest they don't really bug me... too much... I just ask how it happened and try to learn from their mistake... or misfortune....

The best thing you can do is take the mentality of VASH and read his quote at the bottom of my post...
1. Take the MSF course... they'll teach you what to do in an emergency situation so WHEN it DOES happen... you can react and possibly leave unscathed...
2. Ride like everyone’s out to get you
3. Always wear your gear... even for those 2 mile trips to the 7-11
4. Wear something bright... the brighter... the more chance they'll see you...
5. don’t' ride in blind spots... though to be honest... with most cars... anywhere but directly in front of them is a blind spot....
Good luck on getting a bike... what are you looking as far as bikes anyways?
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-17-2005, 12:17 PM