650 vs. 1 liter? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-2005, 11:40 AM Thread Starter

650 vs. 1 liter?

Well gas prices are up to $2.70 for 87 octane in my area so I'm looking at bikes.

My parents used to ride and my dad always had the big bikes (1 liter) and my parents have said get a big bike, you want the power. Is this still true with the newer bikes? Also what kind of gas mileage can I expect from a 650 vs. 1 liter? Also the 650's I'd figure that they don't get their power until they are way up in the rpm range which I would think would make them more dangerous when you want to get out of the way. I'm new to all of this. I done trail riding on dirt bikes but haven't done that in a few years. What kind of 0-60 are you looking at for a 99-00 year range 650 vs. 1 liter? Can you use 87 octane?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-2005, 12:24 PM

Thats funny.
a modern 600 puts out more then 100hp to the road. They have plenty of power. more than you would want for a first bike.

Gas milage hovers in the high 30s and 40s.

0-60 is about 3 sec for 600's and 2.5 sec for liters

Look at an SV650. Its a great starter, that wont leave you bored for a while. Its a twin, so it wont feel peaky. And there is lots of aftermarket support for it.

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-2005, 12:40 PM

You should have done a search on this. People are going to tear you a part. Anyway, my 2c.