Pricing questions.... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-09-2005, 11:49 AM Thread Starter

Pricing questions....

Hi, everybody. I am a college student that will be in the market for a motorcycle, soon. I am new to motorcycles, and I have some questions for those of you that may know more than I concerning what will be feasible considering my financial limitations. I will be buying a bike in about September or early October (gotta get the college paid what they want, first), and by then I should be able to spend 3 or 4 thousand dollars on a bike. I have already counted out about 250 for a helmet, 500-600 for leathers, 75 for gloves, 120 for the motorcycle training course, money for insurance, and I'm thinking a GPS tracker and alarm (400ish). That being said, I have a few questions for those of you that have more experience with this than I.

Is Kelly Blue Book reliable at all? I've looked, and people seem to be asking considerably more for their used bikes than KBB says they're worth. Is it that KBB is just off, that people are trying to high-ball, or what? Would a dealership be talked down in reference to KBB values?

Secondly, I am looking mostly at a Honda F3 or F4. Are these reasonable goals considering what I'm willing to spend? How much could I expect to pay for one of these bikes?

Are there any other bikes in the 500-750cc range that any of you would suggest I look at? I'd like to keep it in that range because while I have good reflexes and am athletic, I don't want
to die on the first trip out. Or wreck my bike and skin myself up. I can neither afford new leathers, new fairings, or a skin graft. If there are any bikes in this category you think would be reasonable goals for me, please let me know what you're thinking!

Have I forgotten any important equipment that you don't see listed? If I have, it may affect how much I can spend on the machine itself.