What to do? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-20-2003, 06:54 AM Thread Starter

What to do?

is a yamaha r6 a good first bike? i have been riding for about 6 months and i am 5'7 and 135 pounds. i learned to ride on a kawasaki 450. i notice that the r6 is kinda tall for me. my feet barely touch the ground when i stop. also it feels kidna heavy for me. i have already dropped it once. is this a hint that mabey i should take more practice on the 6 before i decide to hit the town up? i was thinking about lowering it so that my feet would touch better. i believe that if i lower the bike it will help my center of balance and i will be able to control the weight better. am i right about this? help me out..and give me a break i'm a newbie. any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-20-2003, 07:07 AM

I'm a newbie myself but my advice would be this;

If your feet barely touch the ground, it feels to heavy, and you've already dropped it ...... then you may need something a tad bit smaller.

Go for the bike you fit not the bike that looks good on you, its much safer that way I think. I'm pretty sure you should be able to plant your feet flat on the ground when you stop. If you can't you have a greater chance at getting in trouble somehow, by either falling on it or not getting the right start especially on a turn from a stop like a red light.

Well that's how I feel, but do what you feel comfortable with but if one of the more experienced people say something different then what I said then take thier advice. They know more then I do right now and I don't think anybody here would give out bad advice.

Of course if you can get the bike lowered to fit your hight then
as long as you can handle the power and know how to ride you should be just fine.

Drive safe and have fun.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-20-2003, 07:23 AM