about to buy 954 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-17-2003, 07:00 PM Thread Starter

about to buy 954

Hello all,
I am brand new to sportsbikes and I am contemplating buying an '03 954. I live in Buffalo NY any suggestions on a good dealer to buy from, price to pay, good riding education either practical or books, equipment to purchase and any thing else that might be useful.
I don't ask a lot do I? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Rookie.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-18-2003, 07:13 AM

OK, I'll bite and assume you are serious.

How old are you? When you say you are brand new to "sportbikes", does that mean you have ridden cruisers or dirt bikes? Or have no motorcycle experience whatsoever?

If you have never ridden a mc before,
DON'T BUY A 900!!!
NOT EVEN A 600!!!

Good starter bikes:
Suzuki 650SV
Ninja 500
Ninja 250

There are plenty of threads in here that explain why so I am not going to.
post #3 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-18-2003, 07:52 AM

Yeah, what he said! You'll be scared shitless and that would be with only using about 2% of the bike. Start ALOT smaller. You'll be much happier down the road. Literally.

post #4 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-18-2003, 08:14 AM Thread Starter

I am serious, I am 30 years old and have experience on a 125 street bike in england about 9 years ago. I realize that jumping right into the 954 is ill-advised but to be honest i am likely to do it anyway so if there is any advice you could share in regards to driver education courses or books or equipment or anything else that may help it would be greatly appreciated.
Rookie
post #5 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-18-2003, 11:53 AM

When you are going to jump off a cliff to your death, I simply will not waste my time to try & talk one out of it.
post #6 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-18-2003, 12:03 PM

-MSF Course
-Keith Code Books