Lowering a Honda CBR 600f4I - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-12-2003, 09:53 PM Thread Starter

Lowering a Honda CBR 600f4I

I've been riding for a few years, but haven't logged a lot of miles. I would like to get an entry level sport bike and have been considering an '03 Honda CBR 600 f4i. The only drawback is that the seat height is 31.7". I am 5'7" and would like to lower the bike about an inch. Is this feasible? Will it totally throw off the handling capability of the bike? Additionally, is this an expensive proposition? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
99cobra
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-13-2003, 05:55 AM

I'm not sure I would consider that an "entry level bike" but that wasn't the question. I know a Corbin seat lowered my F3 by about 3/4 " so you might consider looking at after-market seats. Corbin makes a really high quality seat, but their customer service is absolutely horrid. I think a poll of 100 people would turn up 99 who feel the same way. Sargent also makes a seat worth looking at.

Good luck.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-13-2003, 06:54 AM
S370HSSV 0773H

Send a message via Yahoo to spicersh
At 5'7" you shouldn't need to have the bike lowered at all really. My wife rode an F4 with a seat height of 31.9", but we did have it lowered to about 30" so she could get on the balls of her feet at 5'1". She was fine on it, so I would imagine that you would be too being 6" taller than her. If you do want to lower the bike it will affect the handling in that it decreases ground clearance and you'll scrape metal parts sooner.