Yet another, What bike? thread - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-19-2002, 03:54 PM Thread Starter

Yet another, What bike? thread

Heya everyone.

I've been frequenting motorcycle forumns for a few weeks but this will be my first post. I've done quite a bit of research but the more I learn the more I realize I don't know that much at all. I've been interested in bikes for years but my mom had a motorcycle accident in college and until now has forbidden it. She still doesn't want me to but is grudgingly allowing it.

First off, I'm 18 senior in highschool 5'9 160 pounds. I have fairly normal proportions so I figure I will fit most bikes fairly well (hopefully =P). My bike experience is VERY limited, I have 8-12 hours on a '78 CB350 Four. This was all self taught hours and I was too scared to do much. My budget is probably the most deciding factor. I'm looking to spend about $2000-2300 on the bike and $700 or so on gear. Also insurance is a concern since I only make $300-400 a month.

Right now I'm thinking Ninja 500, 250, CBR 600 F2, 600 Katana, YZF, or an SV650. I'm worried that a 250 won't make enough power especially down low. Any idea of other bikes that would be good, or preferences of the aboves? I will be taking the MSF course before buying a bike so that should give me some idea about the power of a 250. How similar is a Ninja 250 to a rebel or whatever they use in the MSF course?

Thanks in advance for any help. Great community here, learned a lot so far.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-19-2002, 07:34 PM