Whats a good price for a 2003 YZF600r? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-02-2002, 10:08 PM Thread Starter

Whats a good price for a 2003 YZF600r?

I'm new here but I have been trolling this board on and off for a few months now. I just made it back statside (I'm military and lived in Germany for the last 3 years) and I will be ready to buy a bike in about 3 months. I never rode a bike before so the MSF course is a must for me. I already checked on the price and dates in my area and it will be $150 and 3 days of my time. I have also read all of the new rider threads and I wanna get a new YZF600r. I'm 6' and weigh about 210lbs so no starting on 500 ningas for me. I am 26 years old too so I think I can handle the responsiblity of a 600cc bike. I'm not cosidering a supersport 600 (ie. zx6r, cbr600rr, r6, gsxr600) for cost and safety reasons. But I was wondering what would be a good price for a new 2003 YZF600r? I am planning on having at least $6,000 cash on hand when I get to the dealer. Do you think if I offered 6 g's cash money up front he'll let me walk out the door with a new bike with all the fees (ie. tax title, registration) included. The msrp is $6,999 for a new one so thats a little more than $1,000 off msrp. Or would $6,500 out the door be more realistic? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-2002, 02:18 AM

Very Good pick for a 1st bike.

If they take your offer run with it, I don't think you'll do that well until late in the season but the worst they can say is NO.

They havn't changed in 4 years so look for a older 6r and you'll get a new 6 for that price.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-2002, 08:55 AM