Another First Bike Question. - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-24-2002, 12:56 PM Thread Starter

Another First Bike Question.

Hello everyone. This is my first post on these boards (only been reading a few days now) but I've just recently gotten into bikes. I've always loved going fast (responsibly, for the most part). I'm 18, and the first car I purchased with my own money was a '93 Trans AM. I absolutely love it but I'm ready for something more (aren't we all?) So recently I've compeletely fallen in love with sportbikes. In reality though, I'm a freshman in college and have very little money to play with. I've already realized I need to take the MSF course, but I was curious as to what bike you all would recommend for no more than $3,000?

I've read posts recommending the GS500 and the SV650. I checked out the MSRP on a used SV650 but from what I can tell Suzuki didn't start making them until 1999 and a used one runs for about 4grand. So enough blabbering, what would you all recommend?

Thanks in advance,
Nick Wells

P.S>Ah yes, I have 0 bike experience. My dad used to own a bike and plans on buying another sometime in the next few years, but that's about it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-24-2002, 01:14 PM

I will just say this: Everyone i know who started out with a 600cc sportbike has wrecked it with chillling results (5) buddies at last count. Everyone I know that started on a 500cc bike has had most enjoyable time riding and can handle themselves very nicley on a larger displacement bike (now).

To sum it up id go with the EX500, it is a grat bike for someone on a budget that hasent rode much before. If you haven ridden very much you will probably be on a budet anyway replacing mirrors and turnsignals!

Good Luck, Lemmie know what u get.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-24-2002, 01:26 PM
S370HSSV 0773H

Send a message via Yahoo to spicersh