should I leave my bike on the stand - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-19-2002, 01:28 AM Thread Starter

should I leave my bike on the stand

HI .im new to the world and iI have a question.I have an R6 (2000)and was wondering when I put it away for a day or two should I leave it on its kick stand or put it on its pitbull rear stand?The reason I ask is because it uses 6mm spools in the swing arm?
Thanks in advance for the opinions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-19-2002, 01:44 AM

A few days (even a week or two) on the side stand won't hurt anything as long as there's no danger of the bike getting tipped over and there's nothing wrong with your side stand. If you were talking weeks or months, it would be a good idea to get the weight of the bike off the tires to prevent flat spots from developing. While a spooled rear stand is very stable, I'm curious about your comment about using 6mm spools. What are you concerned about?
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-19-2002, 06:23 AM

I usually put mine up on the Pit Bull stands, I have more confidence in those than a sidestand. I use the rearstand most everytime I park the bike and it gets teh front stand if it is going to be parked more than a day. You would really have to work at knocking the bike over when it is on a Pit BUll stand.

I think he is worried if the spools will hold the bike for a period of time. Yes they will, they are very strong and they should not fail, even when the bike is stored for months at a time. I would suggest the billet aluminum spools and not the plastic.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-19-2002, 07:10 AM

Macattack,

There's nothing wrong with leaving your bike on the side stand as long as you do two things as a matter of habit.