Shifting Through The Gears? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2002, 05:15 AM Thread Starter

Question Shifting Through The Gears?

I'm a newbie, so bare with me please... I know that neutral lies between 1st and 2nd gear. When in neutral, you must downshift to get in 1st and then upshift to cycle through the rest of the gears. My question is if you are downshifting and are in 2nd and want to go to 1st, does the bike go to neutral before 1st. My other question is if you are in 1st and want to get in neutral do you downshift or upshift?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2002, 05:27 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to FZR400Tony
bikes don't go into neutral that easy. it'll kinda skips over neutral when going, unless you pussy foot it.

when stopped in a sceond, a light downward motion on the lever, or in first a light upward motion will find you neutral.

it sounds difficult, it's not. finding neutral can be at times. kawasaki's have a positive neutral finder. i think some newbies find it useful. i don't really like it myself. but i think clocks, gas guages and crap like that is unnecessary.

Tony

Coward stays behind freedom.
A braveman stands in front of freedom and defends it for others.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2002, 05:38 AM

I agree with FZR400Tony, most bikes skip through neutral quite easily and this can make finding neutral rather difficult. I find the easiest way to get into neutral on most bikes is to lightly press down on the shift lever from second while the bike is rolling. It's much harder to find neutral once you have stopped, unless you ride a Kawasaki.

If you find yourself in neutral when upshifting into second gear you should concentrate on making a firmer upshift and/or adjust the shift lever down a bit.