Is this common? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 05:04 AM Thread Starter

Question Is this common?

I am a new rider; bought my first bike in June and so far have logged just under 4000 miles. I ride nearly every day and have done trips up to 300miles. My question is this; most days I feel really good on the bike but some days, like yesterday, I never feel "settled". I get nervous at speeds and doing turns that I do normally every day, for no reason. It is really bugging me and it feels like I take a step backwards in my skill level. Is this a typical thing for new riders to experience?
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 05:36 AM

I've been riding for well over 20 years. There still are times when I don't fell comfortable at speed, like in a pool game everyone has there off days. Anything can cause it, your mental state, tired, hungry, maybe it's a sixth sense. All I do is back off, there will be a better day.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 05:46 AM

I get like that somedays and for me the best thing to do is just park the bike and ride another day.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 09:29 AM

Sixth Sense...

Sounds like you're experiencing that little voice telling you to slow it down and take it easy. Trust me, you should listen to the little voice and slow down a tad (for me, I've been known to head back home rather than ride in an uncomfortable state).

The main thing to remember is that what you're feeling isn't that uncommon, even for riders with decades of experience. Such feelings have nothing to do with your skills as a rider (or in your case, with your gaining riding skill).

Good luck to you
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 09:36 AM

Listen to the mojo! If things don't feel right, bring the bike home and live to ride another day.
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 01:51 PM