Maybe a new way to look at your first bike - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-02-2002, 06:38 AM Thread Starter

Maybe a new way to look at your first bike

I'm new to this sport and don't even have a bike yet actually. Like almost every other cocky guy to start riding sportbikes I originally wanted to start on a 600cc machine. So I was thinking about all of this and a sort of comparison came to mind.

With new drivers, of cars that is, you don't just start on a 14 second Mustang. Most people, usually parents, are right in assuming that a V8 Mustang is just too much for somebody that has never driven a car before. Especially if the inexperience is coupled with being young. I know with my Mustang it was plenty fast to me when I first got it and if I didn't have a little restraint I could have gotten myself into a lot of trouble very quickly.

Now that I've modified the car to run mid 12's on slicks at 108mph I can say that that car will get you into even worse trouble, even quicker. It will do triple digit speeds in under 12 seconds and spin the tires in every gear even when the ground is dry.

Now taking this experience and thinking about which bike I want for my first mount, I was thinking that a bike that will run high 10's completely stock just might be overkill. So I guess thinking about it this way it's easier to accept that a brand new 600 isn't for most beginners.

I know from experience that a 12 second 1/4 mile is really fast. I can't imagine what a high 10 with no safety barrier except a skin of leather feels like. Probably quite a rush and I'm in no hurry to die.

Beau
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-02-2002, 07:05 AM

a good perspective!

Glad to see your thinking it through!

Good luck and welcome!
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-02-2002, 10:41 AM