injuries without crashing - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-07-2002, 12:31 PM Thread Starter

Lightbulb injuries without crashing

ok...here is something that has been baffling me since I started riding...a whole 2 months ago...when I'm riding on a highway, after about 10-15 minutes, my hands go completely numb...it's not a temperature thing, and I wear gloves, it just seems that the position of my arms and wrists on the sportbike does something to prohibit bloodflow (I'm guessing)...any ideas what I can do to not have this happen?..I've tried relaxing even more than I am, I stretch my arms and wrists before I get on the bike, but I end up having to shake my hands out to get them back to normal (and taking my right hand off the throttle is somewhat of an adventure around a bunch of crazy truck drivers)...
the other funniness is tennis elbow...I've played tennis for years and never got tennis elbow...now I have it from riding...very curious
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-07-2002, 02:01 PM

My bet is that this is being caused by your being too tense (though you probably don't realize it). This will probably go away to a great extent as your ride more and can relax. However, here are a couple of tips: grasp the handlebars like you are holding a sponge that you don't want to squeeze the water out of. Nice and easy. Drop your wrist angle as much as possible - try to get your forearm parallel to the road; this will lessen the pressure on your wrists. Keep your elbows bent and your shoulders relaxed. You might also consider getting bar risers.

Just my $.02.

Good luck.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-07-2002, 03:13 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by Bonk!