Total newbie here, need some advice... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-27-2002, 07:12 AM Thread Starter

Question Total newbie here, need some advice...

Hi everyone...

I'm a senior in high school and recently became interested in sport bikes. I guess it's all that racing on Speed TV . Anyway, I've never riden a cycle before and don't really know where to start.

I guess the best thing to do would be to get licensed and find a cheap bike to practice on?

This forum looks like a large community to go to for help, so that's a good thing.

What magazines/Websites would you recommend for me to check out?

Any and all help is appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-27-2002, 07:35 AM

buy a cheap bike, and get lots of gear, including helmet, jacket, and gloves. trust me you'll need them, everyone lays down there first bike, and it hurts, I know, my only mistake was not buying the gloves a day earlier, it may have saved me a broken wrist.

also don't go out and buy a large bike, the bigger the bike the heavier it is, get something like a ninja 250 or 500. and look into the motorcycle safety coarse to, it will help if you never rode before
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-29-2002, 01:28 AM

Take the safety course (MSF or equivalent) first. They provide the (small) bike and you can see if you really like it in a supportive and safe environment. Plus when you pass the course, you are one step closer to gettng your license. It will also show your parents that you are being responsible about a bike. It may take a while (weeks or even months) to get into a class, but you'll know when it comes around if you're still interested.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-29-2002, 01:29 AM
Founder

Garage
http://www.msf-usa.org

Robert Basil
SportbikeWorld.com Founder
PocketbikePlanet.com Founder