Newbie has some questions - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-24-2002, 08:58 AM Thread Starter

Newbie has some questions

Hello everyone.

A little background about myself and my plan. I have never ridden a motorcycle before, I have never even been a passanger on one. I have been fascinated with them for probably the past 17+ years. I have known anyone that owned a sportbike and my only experience up close even being near a bike was with tourers and cruisers.

In the next year or so I plan on taking a MSF and buying a bike. Top speed really isn't important to me at all, I just want something that handles well and is pretty cost effective. I am a pretty good mechanic (cars) and not intimidated by technology. I was leaning towards a Ninja 250 but am open to suggestions...suggestions?

I also have some gear questions.

Boots. Are engineer boots okay on a sportbike or are they a foot amputation waiting to happen?

Chaps. Do they offer any sort of protection?

I figure gear will probably run about $1500. Is that a good estimate?

What is involved in the 600 mile tuneup? How different is working on a sportbike from a car?

Thanks for everyones help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-24-2002, 09:47 AM

Whatever you considered spending on chaps please do your self a favor and spend it on something useful like scotch tape Forget the chaps. Good helmet, Gloves, Jacket / pants (or one piece suit) & some good riding boots. $1500 should cover this easy. The Ninja 250 is a good beginner, and if you search this topic you will find tons of info. The MSF is a must. I wouldn't even atempt to ride without it. Bikes and cars apart from both being internal cumbustion engines are pretty much different to work on. Not impossible mind you, but different.
Good Luck
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-24-2002, 09:48 AM

Re: Newbie has some questions

Quote: