02 cbr600 to an 02r1 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-30-2002, 11:31 AM Thread Starter

02 cbr600 to an 02r1

wuz up fellaz! once again i'm back with another problem last time it was what bike to start out on and you guys gave me some great advice so now i'm asking for more of that advice. i have been riding my 02 cbr 600 for about a couple of months now and i can say i really love it and have gotten familiar with it, but i really am starting to love the 02 r1 and was thinking about trading my 600 in for one, but i dont know if i would be able to handle an r1 since it is alot more powerful than a 600 and making that transition would be something i would need to get use to, but i'm not trying to ride to become a street demon of speed, i ride because of my love for it and just to enjoy myself. So what are you guys thoughts would i be able to go from a 600 to 1000 with only few months riding expierience, as i read this, it sounds totally crazy to ask, but i need help and i would rather have it among fellow riders.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-30-2002, 02:39 PM

Sorry dude but I don't think that's a great idea. How many miles do you have under your belt? There is absolutley no way you're pushing that 600 to the limits with only a few months of riding. Do you want the R1 because of how it looks? Sounds like a bad idea to me.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-30-2002, 04:28 PM

i think most people would advise you to wait a few years. You really need the experience and knowledge of riding for atleast a few years before you would need a liter bike. I'm not saying you can't handle the bike, anyone can ride one, but you wouldn't be riding it properly, if that makes any sense.
If all you care about is the looks, the R1 is beautiful, then trade your bike in for the R6, it's almost the same bike but in a smaller package. It's up to you.