When will I know I'm ready? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-23-2002, 12:25 AM Thread Starter

Question When will I know I'm ready?

I've been riding for 6 months now on a 2002 Kawasaki Ninja 500R. I had researched what newbie bike I should purchase for months before settling on this bike. When I first walked into the dealership I honestly thought this bike is way too big, "maybe I'm biting off more than I can chew", but I always wanted to learn how to ride, so I stuck to my guns. My problem is this, I actually feel I have out grown the 500R and would like to upgrade. I have read in several forums about the bike creating complacency and overconfidence. I originally intended to purchase this starter bike and ride for 2-3 years and then upgrade to a 600cc, R6 or F4I. My problem is that I feel I've outgrown the bike and I'm feeling more of a bug to upgrade NOW! My question is this. When do you know that your skill is good enough to handle a more powerful bike, or am I being overconfident?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-23-2002, 07:56 AM

I dont think there is a scientific way (ok a written document) as to when someone is ready to get a bigger bike. You may have to go with your gut feeling. You can also try to go to track and see how well you can push your ride in a safe environment. IMHO.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-24-2002, 08:16 AM

All depends on the rider. The bike will only do what you tell it to, the difference (I've learned) between a good starter bike and a not-so-good starter bike is how willing to do what you tell it the bike is.