Yeesh. I'm lost... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-18-2002, 09:23 PM Thread Starter

Yeesh. I'm lost...

...in a sea of bikes. I need some help here guys. I'm just getting into the motorcycling scene here and will be getting my first bike this summer. My dad has been riding bikes for ages and convinced me to take the MSF course, just to see if I liked it or not. Well hell, you can't peel me off of them now. I steal his bike and go riding every free moment I get. I guess he wants his bike back, so that's why he's probably pushing for me to get my own. Who knows. (It's a Honda Shadow Aero 1100 by the way)

So I've spent the last few months searching and searching for what I should do for a bike. I originally thought R6 or F4i, but both are way too small and hard on the butt for my 6'2", 230lb structure. I like my dad's bike for it's comfort and torque, but at the same time hate it because of it's weight and upright riding position. So basically I'm looking for something comfy, yet sporty. I've been having a love affair with a Triumph Sprint RS at a local dealership (fits like a glove, sounds amazing), but the 955i engine might be a tad much for me, plus the Sprint is kind of a highway bike and I'll be 99% city.

So what can you guys suggest for a bike? I know just about every post gets a reply "SV650", and they're OK but I don't know if they're really for me. I just need a push in the right direction. Thanks!

Last edited by dan0myte; 06-18-2002 at 09:26 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-19-2002, 06:22 AM

I would have to suggest the Honda Interceptor 800. Touque & style all rolled up into 1. The riding position is sporty but not radical. I'm 6'4" & a modest 210 lbs. It felt good to me but I can't bring myself to ride a Honda. My preference only. I believe they are good bikes .... call it a character flaw. Let us know what you end up with.