Opinion: '90 thru 95 FZR 600 Good as first bike? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-18-2002, 08:33 PM Thread Starter

Opinion: '90 thru 95 FZR 600 Good as first bike?

I am asking for the opinion of experienced riders for their opinion of getting a 1990, or a little newer, FZR 600 as a first bike. I have very little experience on a bike and have signed up for abait, but that is a little more than two months away. My friend, that has been to California Superbike School, is going to teach me the basics. If I purchase a FZR 600 i plan on going to California Superbike School session 1 ( operating on a limited budget). I know that 600's are alot for a newbie but older 600's have less power than modern 600's. What I am wondering is if this would be a reasonable starter bike and for any advice on riding.

Thanx,
cyber_rider
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-18-2002, 08:45 PM

FZR's are great! I learned how to ride on a 92'. When it came down to a bike of my own I debated between the FZR and the F2. Ended up with the F2 for a couple reasons but FZR's are good first bikes, plus slightly easier on the wallet.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-19-2002, 07:20 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to FZR400Tony
fzr's aren't ideal. but for a sportbike, it's not the worst choice. reliable, good looking. has enough oddities to teach you about caring for a bike. 91-2 are the best years. single headlight looks GREAT on them. the double headlights are weird.

gs500, ex500, etc. are better choices. but if a real sportbike is your choice, it's a good one.

Tony

Coward stays behind freedom.
A braveman stands in front of freedom and defends it for others.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-20-2002, 06:49 PM