Which one? ex250 or ex500 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-06-2002, 07:43 PM Thread Starter

Which one? ex250 or ex500

I did a search, but I couldn't find a concrete answer on this question.

I REALLY want an YZF-R6 or CBR600F4i, but I have ZERO riding experience. I'm also saving up to buy a house so spending $8000 on a bike would do some damage.

SO, I thought I'd start with a 250 or a 500 for a little while until I feel comfortable enough to upgrade to the bike I REALLY want
  • Based on monthly payments and insurance, I'll be paying around $100 extra a month for the 500.
  • Once I get more comfortable, I'd like to use my bike to commute which is 90% highway riding.
  • I don't plan on keeping this bike long term (over 2 years) ... as soon as I become a "proficient rider", I would like to get a 600. I'll be in a better financial situation then anyway.
  • Speed or power isn't an issue. I want a less powerful bike to learn how to ride correctly, not to get fast quarter time.
My question is... based on those statements which one should I get? The ex500 or the ex250?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-06-2002, 10:03 PM

How tall are you? Weight?

I'd say the 500 if you're gonna spend that much time on the highway UNLESS you're really small like <130 or <5'3".

Both would be great to learn on though so if 100/mo toward the house is gonna help the 250 is fine unless you're >190 or >6'0"

Welcome
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-06-2002, 10:26 PM

Send a message via AIM to ga_skyline_rydr Send a message via Yahoo to ga_skyline_rydr
Quote:
Originally posted by apexismaximus
How tall are you? Weight?

I'd say the 500 if you're gonna spend that much time on the highway UNLESS you're really small like <130 or <5'3".

Both would be great to learn on though so if 100/mo toward the house is gonna help the 250 is fine unless you're >190 or >6'0"

Welcome