Motorcycle license test was hard... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-06-2002, 03:41 PM Thread Starter

Motorcycle license test was hard...

Hey everybody. I just took the skills portion of my motorcycle license test and damn if it wasn't harder than I would've thought. Either that or I'm not as good as I thought. I've never taken a MSF course but I studied the little MSF practice booklet that came with my bike and the cone weave part was totally different on the actual test. In the booklet it shows you to set up a single row of cones with 20 feet between them and weave....I practiced that and did ok. But on the test, there were two rows of cones with about 10 feet alternating spacing between the cones and about 5 feet between the rows. Damn it was hard to maneuver my ZX-6 in there.

One guy told me that a Ninja wasn't the best bike for doing this. I got throught the first 3 cones but had to put down my foot for the last 2. I ended up failing the test because of that and when I did the u-turn part, I went across the boundry line. I was suprised by how hard the bike is to turn and stuff at slow speeds (10-15 mph). At highway speeds, it'll go wherever I want but not slow. Maybe there are some techniques I just don't know about. I've had this bike for almost 2 months now and feel fairly comfortable with handling it but I never tried weaving slowly and stuff. Did anybody else have any problems passing their skills test? Any pointers??....I always appreciate good advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-06-2002, 03:55 PM